Review: Never Lose Sight-Chris Tomlin

Opening with the powerfully reverent “Good, Good Father”, Chris Tomlin’s latest musical endeavor explores faith and what it means to worship as a 21st century Christian. With the release of his ninth studio album, Never Lose Sight, the 44-year old native of Grand Saline, Texas enlisted the help of contemporary Christian music notables like Danny Gokey, Matt Redman, Kim Walker-Smith, Matt Maher and Jason Ingram.

In Never Lose Sight, Contemporary Christian Music’s finest songwriter and author of worship standards like “How Great Is Our God,” “Our God,” and “Whom Shall I Fear (God of Angel Armies),” has woven together an authentic worship record reflecting on the innumerable wonders of God.


Songs like “Jesus” and “God of Calvary “, and “He Lives” remind us of the incomparable anchor of our Christian faith, while offerings like “Home,” “Glory Be,” and “All Yours” celebrate the goodness and magnificence of God.

The duet with Danny Gokey, “Impossible Things” declares the power of the Lord at work in our world.

Track List from Never Lose Sight (Deluxe Edition)

1              Good, Good Father

2              Jesus

3              Impossible Things (feat. Danny Gokey)

4              Home

5              God of Calvary

6              He Lives

7              Glory Be

8              Come Thou Fount (I Will Sing)

9              Yes and Amen

10           All Yours

11           First Love (feat. Kim Walker-Smith)

12           The God I Know

13           God and God Alone

14           Kyrie Eleison (feat. Matt Maher, Matt Redman, Jason Ingram)

“Come Thou Fount” is a beautiful, prayerful reworking of one of the beloved Christian hymns. The celebratory “First Love”, is a collaboration with Kim Walker-Smith, whose angelic, soulful voice perfectly complements Tomlin’s familiar tenor.

The album closes out with “The God I Know” and “God and God Alone” before ending with “Kyrie Eleison”, featuring Matt Maher, Matt Redman, and Jason Ingram. All three songs are diamonds among the shiny treasure found on what may be Tomlin’s best effort to date.

Never Lose Sight does not break new sonic ground. That is not its purpose. Rather, Never Lose Sight is a work of prayerful anthems and sure-to-be worship standards. The songs reflect on the Truth, the Way and the Life that is Jesus Christ, and the album, solidly performed and produced, serves as a means of worshipping the Lord God Almighty. What more could you ask for in a Christian worship album?

No doubt, Tomlin will be adding to his collection of Dove Awards and possibly even add a couple of Grammys. Never Lose Sight is a masterfully, well done beacon shining amidst the growing discography of CCM’s finest son.

Watch “Jesus” video by Chris Tomlin



1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.